Battle of the Bulge

Standard

Every year I come up with a resolution. Every year I tell myself that I am going to be smaller in size than I was the year before, but the opposite happens. Maybe next year I should just tell myself the opposite. It’s not that I don’t like how I look. I just feel the need to be healthier than I am in my present state. As much as I hate going to doctors for regular check- ups and they say, “for your size you are pretty healthy,” its only a matter of time before my luck will run out. What irks me to the highest degree is how easy it is to gain weight, yet just to lose one pound is like a full scale war, however the journey to good health is a mandatory battle. Through me trying to lose weight I’ve come across a series of rather interesting things.

  1.  When you start a heavy gym regime, most times you gain weight at first. This is because the fat is being converted to muscle. Muscle weighs heavier than fat, and will burn more fat as you keep on exercising. So don’t get dismayed when you see a couple extra pounds in the beginning.
  2. Diet and exercise  both go hand in hand… don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.
  3. Weight training burns more calories than cardio exercises.
  4. Heart rate monitors are wonderful gadgets to invest in. You get maximum weight loss when your heart rate is at a certain zone. However it is not advised that you stay in that zone for an extended period of time.
  5. Fat Burners- rather scary things (I find). They make your heart race to boost your metabolism so you can lose weight faster. To me, that sounds like torture. I rather run and run out of breath in the process.
  6. Try to have a gym buddy, who is a very good conversationalist.  It makes the torture much easier.
  7. Salt helps with muscle cramps.
  8. The statement no pain, no gain is really true. Muscles do tear a bit with weight training (pain) and when they repair, the get stronger (gain) so you are able to push yourself more (bigger gain)

Honestly though, in order to win the battle of the bulge, you have to want to get rid of the bulge. Set realistic goals for yourself and you’d be amazed at the results once you stick to it.

🙂
FabulousThickie

Leave a Reply

